On the site of the current church, there used to be a stone church, probably built in the 14th century. It was demolished in 1766 when the new church was built. The material from the old church was used in the construction of the new one, which was built in Rococo style under the direction of the well-known builder Daniel Hagman. The building was completed in 1768, but much remained to be done, and the work was not finished until 1770, with the church not being inaugurated until January 12, 1772.
The church is considered one of the most complete monuments of the Rococo style within our country’s ecclesiastical art, and it is the only one where the interior has been preserved in the condition in which it was once handed over to the parish.
The church consists of a rectangular nave with a sacristy on the north side. The interior ceiling has three ribless star vaults. The gallery and seating were made by the carpentry alderman Olof Hillgren, and most of the paintings were done by master Paul Hallberg from Hudiksvall. On the front of the gallery, fifteen prophets are painted, and in the middle stands the name Jahve in Hebrew letters.
Some of the church’s furnishings include:
The pulpit (1771) and altarpiece (1783) executed by Johan Edler the Elder.
Inside the altar circle, there is a bride’s bench in red, gold, and dark brown.
The altarpiece “The Visit of the Wise Men to Bethlehem” is signed Holm, Stockholm 1794.
The hexagonal pine baptismal font with rich flat carvings is dated 1693 and made by Jöns Olofsson.
The screens of the foremost benches have images of evangelists and apostles. All evangelists are depicted, but only nine apostles. Peter, Paul, and Mark are missing, and they probably disappeared to make room for a fireplace.
The sacristy door bears details from the previous church. At the top, the preaching Christ from the 13th century. In the middle of the door, two apostles and lower down, a deacon from the 15th century.
Inside the sacristy, there is a censer from the 15th century.
An impressive church chest under the pulpit with abundant iron fittings and five locks that must be opened in a specific order. The chest was stolen during a burglary, but the thieves were unable to unlock it and found it so heavy that they had to leave it a distance from the church.
Under the gallery, there are two wooden sculptures depicting the church’s patron saint, St. Olof. The larger one bears Hakon Gullesons signature and was made in the early 1500s. The smaller sculpture, probably a Jämtland work also from the 1500s, has had a varied history and came to Borgsjö church in modern times, donated by a private individual who had it in their home.
The organ, installed in 1700, is crowned with Gustav III’s monogram and is the first church organ built in Medelpad.
The bell tower and bells
A previous tower was mentioned in 1754 when it was to be tarred. The current tower was built in 1783 by Pål Persson from Stugun. There is a debate about the inspiration for the onion-shaped dome, whether it is an eastern influence or a purely local variant. The tower is impressively large and has been given the honorary name “The King of Bell Towers in the North.” Three bells hang in the tower. The smallest was cast in 1673 and remade in 1752.
Source: Borgsjö kyrka – Borgsjö-Haverö församling (svenskakyrkan.se)